top of page

The Council

The Council is the governing body of the St. Kitts and Nevis Bar Association and manages the affairs of the Bar Association.

Elected Representatives

The Council consists of the immediate past president of the Bar Association, a President, Vice-President, Treasurer, and seven (7) ordinary members, one of whom is nominated by the elected members of the Council to serve as Secretary. Elections are held annually to elect the members of the Bar to the Council. The elected officers and members of the Council for the year 2020-2021 are:
Kurlyn Merchant.jpg
Kurlyn Merchant
WhatsApp Image 2019-07-11 at 12.26.05 PM
Sherry-Ann Liburd-Charles
Vice President
Lisa Hazel-Claxton
Dahlia Joseph.jpg
Dahlia Joseph Rowe
Immediate Past President
Rhonda Nisbett.jpeg
Rhonda Nisbett-Browne
Ordinary Member
Talibah Byron.jpg
Talibah Byron
Tashna Powell Williams.jpeg
Tashna Powell Williams
Ordinary Member
Violet 4.jpg
Violet Williams
Ordinary Member
Kerryanne Amritt
Ordinary Member
Victor (2).jpg
Dane Victor Elliott-Hamilton
Ordinary Member

Ordinary Member
 Scales of Justice


THE COUNCIL has established the following committees to assist the Council in discharging its duties under the Legal Profession Act:



THE BENCH-BAR COMMITTEE – established to facilitate open and frank dialogue between the Bench and Bar with a view to promoting, maintaining and supporting the administration of justice in St. Kitts and Nevis.


The members of the Bench-Bar Committee are:

  1. Resident Judges

  2. The elected representatives of the Council


The members of the Inner Bar (Queen’s Counsel) are invited to participate in Bench-Bar Committee meetings.


The committee meetings are chaired by the President of the St. Kitts and Nevis Bar Association.



THE LEGISLATIVE REVIEW COMMITTEE – established to review and provide feedback on proposed legislation as well as review existing legislation that may be in need of reform.


The members of the Legislative Review Committee are:


Kurlyn Merchant (Chairperson)

Tashna Powell Williams (Deputy Chairperson)

Delara MacClure Taylor

Shemica Maloney

Rhonda Nisbett-Browne

Cindy Herbert

Victor Hamilton

Dani Maynard



WEBSITE AND SOCIAL MEDIA COMMITTEE – established to create and maintain cyber platforms to provide valuable information and education to the public and to keep Attorneys-at-Law informed on the work and events of the St. Kitts and Nevis Bar Association.


The members of the Website and Social Media Committee are:


Adrian Scantlebury (Chairperson)

Krysta Liburd-Clarke

Garth Wilkin

Derriann Charles

Violet Williams

Rochelle Duncan



LAW WEEK COMMITTEE – established to plan and execute a special week of activities geared towards strengthening bonds among persons involved in the administration of justice and the public generally; to educate the public on matters of significant interest;  to demonstrate the Bar Association’s commitment to social responsibility by affording members the opportunity to give back to their communities in various ways; to enhance the image of the profession and improve public trust and confidence in the profession.


The members of the Law Week Committee are:


Anmarieta Staines (Chairperson)
Sherry Ann Liburd-Charles

Talibah Byron 

Derriann Charles

Krysta Liburd-Clarke

Rhonda Nisbett-Browne


The elected representatives of the Council and members of all committees offer their time and assistance on a voluntary basis. No fees are paid to any member of the Council or Committee but a member may be reimbursed from the funds of the Association for out-of-pocket and traveling expenses incurred by him or her in relation to the Association. 

bottom of page